not only a song

volcan OsornoMy name is Elisa, from Italy. In this very delicate social-political-economical moment, as many other people in my country, I was fired with the excuse of the financial crisis. Without a job, without a partner, I thought it was the perfect moment to do what I love most: to travel!

So I bought a one way ticket to Ushuaia, Argentina, the end of the world and the 17th of April of 2013 I started exploring the world, slowly, with my backpack, with the intention to travel along the Ring of Fire.

So what is exactly the “Ring of Fire”?

Before I got to Chile, I thought the “Ring of Fire” was quite a good song from Johnny Cash.

Well, also.

The Pacific Ring of Fire, or Ring of Fire for short, is an area where a large number of earthquakes and volcanic eruptions occur in the basin of the Pacific Ocean. In a 25,000 mile horseshoe shape, it’s associated with an almost continuous series of oceanic trenches, volcanic belts, volcanic arcs and/or plate movement. The Ring of Fire contains 452 volcanoes and is home to over 75 percent of the world’s active and dormant volcanoes. It’s sometimes called the circum-Pacific belt or the circum-Pacific seismic belt.

Approximately 90 percent of the world’s earthquakes and 81 percent of the world’s largest earthquakes happen along the Ring of Fire!

(Read more at http://www.redorbit.com/education/reference_library/earth/geography/1112787031/pacific-ring-of-fire/#UEdfX9H3pouDtL6K.99)

And why would I want to travel along a very dangerous, shaking and exploding land, you might ask. I’m still looking for the answer, but I have to say I got addicted to the pointy, snowy landscape.
I’ve always liked mountains since I was a child and maybe this unsettled ground I’m walking, represents a bit the unstable nature of my soul, not happy when I settle, always on the move, a fire inside that burns, explodes with ideas and lust for knowledge.

I’ve been walking the ring of fire for more than a year now and I want to share my experience as a backpacker and a human being.

I hope it can be useful to other people, that might want to make the same journey, or just parts of it.

Leave a Reply

